Review of the Uglies by Scott Westerfield

Cover of "Uglies (Uglies Trilogy, Book 1)...

Cover of Uglies (Uglies Trilogy, Book 1)

The Ugliesis the story of Tally Youngblood, a teenager who lives in Uglyville.   Everyone is Uglyville doesn’t have to stay ugly forever.  In fact when each teenager reaches their 16th birthday they get to have  cosmetic surgery and later to move to Prettyville, a place where everyone is beautiful.  Everyone is excited about getting the surgery except for Tally’s friend Shay.  Shay wants to leave Uglyville and escape to Rusty Ruins, the rebel hideout.  Shay tries to talk Tally into leaving with her but Tally refuses.  Shays decides to leave Tally clues to the location in the hope that her friend will join her.On the eve of Tally’s surgery the authorities force Tally to find the location of the rebel base but once Tally arrives she falls in love with David, the rebel leader and soon discovers the truth behind the surgeries.  Soon Tally becomes part of the rebellion movement.

It’s a great action-packed book.  This is the first book in a four book series.  The Pretties, The Specials and The Extras are the next books in the series.  If you enjoy romance and adventure this would be a great book for you!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s