Teen Writing Tip

Standard
Cover of "Reading Like a Writer: A Guide ...

Cover via Amazon

Of course writers can learn a lot by reading books but I find that I can also learn about writing by also reading the “how to” books as well as the wonderful narrative books we love to read as well.  Here are some of my favorite.

On Writing by Stephen King

Reading Like a Writer by Francine Prose

This Year You Write Your Novel by Walter Mosley

As I look at the list I notice how diverse it is and that’s the way it should be.  I learn so much about writing and human behavior by getting to know all sorts of people.  I hosted several students from China this past summer and I still keep in touch with several of them.  Now if I have a Chinese character in my book I will know how to write them.

Cover of "On Writing:  A Memoir of the Cr...

Cover of On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft

Leave a Reply

