Teen Writing Prompt 589

Standard

Write a poem about how you feel today.

 

 

 

Broken Heart

 

My heart is broken because he is no more

 

But my memories of him will stay in with me forever.

 

His laughter and how much he loved life.

 

His Strength and Courage

 

The pain will no longer keep him captive.

 

Today he is free.

 

Free to live in our hearts forever.

 

 

 

I wrote this poem after discovering this morning that my cousin died after a long illness fighting ASL.  He was strong throughout the entire ordeal.  Last summer my father and I took a road trip from New Jersey to Florida to visit him and his family while they were on holiday.  They live in the UK. All I can remember is how full of life he was.

 

I’ll journal about it today because as I writer I have to get it all out on paper and it doesn’t matter if I never read what I write again. Writing helps it get better. So today write it out.  Good or bad then you’ll feel a bit freer.

 

Green Heart (And the Green Grass Grows All Aro...

Green Heart (And the Green Grass Grows All Around, All Around) (Photo credit: CarbonNYC)

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

