Teen Writing Prompt 608 – Monologues

Standard

When setting out to write a monologue there are a few things to consider.

What does your character want?

What will happen if your character doesn’t get what he or she wants?

What’s the hook?  What I mean by this is what about this discussion will pull in your readers?

Involve the senses when your character is telling his or he story.

Find a great way to wrap everything up. Here’ a bit of one I wrote.

I’ve been surrounded by these four walls for five years, 54 days, two hours, sixteen minutes and six seconds. Although most people here have stopped countin’ I need to keep track of the time.  I want to remember my birthday and Christmas, I want taste the sticky sugary chocolate cake my mother use to make me every year. Smell the

English: Chocolate cake with chocolate frostin...

English: Chocolate cake with chocolate frosting topped with chocolate shavings, misocrazy (flikr) http://www.flickr.com/photos/misocrazy/234833296/, attribution required (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

barbecue chicken with its smoky scent and maple syrup sweetness and slippery greasy goodness.

You see every year she’d ask me the same question. She’d say,” Margaret what do you want me to cook you for your birthday?”

I didn’t even have to speak because and soon as she saw my crooked smile she already knew my answer.

Leave a Reply

