Teen Writing Prompt 613

Standard

One, two, three, four, five I’ll open my eyes on the count of ten and everything will be all right.

What happens when your character opens her or his eyes?

Here’s part of my story.  I used this prompt today during a Creative Writing class I teach for a theater workshop in South Orange.

One, two, three, four, five I’ll open my eyes on the count of ten and then everything will be okay.  When I opened my eyes I found myself in a sea of darkness.  If was as if all the light in the world got sucked into a black hole.  It was so dark that I thought maybe it wasn’t the whole world around me, maybe I was blind. I called out her name but Helen didn’t answer.  I thought that maybe she was playing a trick on me.

“Come on Helen!” I screamed.  “It isn’t funny!” I yelled hoping she’d admit that it was some silly game she was playing but she never answered.

Simulated gravitational lensing (black hole go...

Simulated gravitational lensing (black hole going past a background galaxy). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

One response »

  1. One, two, three, four, five I’ll open my eyes on the count of ten and everything will be alright. I opened up my pale green eyes to the darkness of my little room. I looked around; I was sitting on my bed and it was covered in… feathers? I twisted around to the right and saw that my pillow had been ripped to shreds. I tried to remember why I felt frightened in the first place. My deep breathing had subsided and my heart was no longer pounding against my chest. I felt my forehead. No fever. I threw my blankets toward my purple wall and stumbled my way into the bathroom. I flicked on the light and splashed cold water onto my face. When I caught a glimpse of myself in the mirror I saw that my eyes were red-rimmed and puffy like I’d been crying. I focused and could still feel the lump in my throat. Why in the hell can’t I remember what happened? Frustrated, I walked swiftly but softly down the stairs and into the kitchen. I poured myself a glass of tea and drank it all in four big gulps. I turned around to face the window and I saw a pair of bright blue eyes staring back at me. I gasped and dropped my glass onto the floor. It was a boy. I heard it shatter and looked down. When I threw my head back up to see if he was still there I just barely saw him sprint into the woods in my backyard. I wanted to follow after him but my feet felt glued to the floor.
    My parents frantically rushed into the kitchen. They were asking me questions and trying to shake me out of my trance but I didn’t move one muscle. I just kept staring out the window and longed for the boy with those beautiful blue eyes.

Leave a Reply

